repositories doc
authorTimo Savola <tsavola@movial.fi>
Wed, 18 Jun 2008 13:43:32 +0000 (16:43 +0300)
committerTimo Savola <tsavola@movial.fi>
Wed, 18 Jun 2008 13:47:15 +0000 (16:47 +0300)
doc/repositories.txt [new file with mode: 0644]

diff --git a/doc/repositories.txt b/doc/repositories.txt
new file mode 100644 (file)
index 0000000..526d553
--- /dev/null
@@ -0,0 +1,31 @@
+Component repository layout
+===========================
+
+Remote repositories
+-------------------
+
+The project contents (source code packages and build metadata) are stored in
+Git repositories, typically on one or more remote servers.  A "component"
+consists of two repositories: one for the source code and one for the meta
+data.  They are searched from the remote locations ("roots" - see the 'Root()'
+config API function in the "Project configuration" document) by forming the
+following URLs:
+
+  - `'root'/source/'component'.git`
+  - `'root'/meta/'component'.git`
+
+The two repositories can be located under different roots - and actually under
+multiple roots.  The roots are ordered from "generic" to "specific": a latter
+(more specific) root may override a component repository in a former (more
+generic) root.
+
+
+Working directories
+-------------------
+
+Matrix clones and checks out the source code repository in the
+`src/'component'` directory and the meta data repository in the
+`src/'component'/meta` directory.  The check-outs can be directly used for
+developing the code in addition to automated building using Matrix.  Changes
+can be pushed to the remote repositories if the root was configured with an
+`ssh` or `rsync` URL.